Major seven-part adaptation of Sword of Honour trilogy coming to BBC Radio this year

From The Stage:

A BBC awards scheme that launched the careers of actors such as Stephen Tompkinson and Richard Griffiths has named this year’s winners, with all the recipients being cast in a major seven-part adaptation of Evelyn Waugh’s Sword of Honour trilogy.

The Carleton Hobbs bursary award, which this year marks its 60th anniversary, gives four actors graduating from drama school a contract with the BBC Radio Drama Company. Formerly known as the BBC Repertory Company, actors working with the RDC perform in plays, series, dramatisations and readings that are broadcast on Radio 3, Radio 4, the World Service and Radio 4 Extra.

This year’s winners have all been cast in an adaptation of Waugh’s Sword of Honour – which comprises the novels Men at Arms, Officers and Gentlemen and Unconditional Surrender. Sword of Honour has been dramatised by Jeremy Front for Radio 4 and will be broadcast in September.

This entry was posted in Adaptations, Radio, Radio Programs, Sword of Honour, World War II and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.